Welfare Reform Group

The role of the National Welfare Reform Group is to provide strategic direction and act as a sounding board at a national level for our work on welfare reform.

The role of the group is to:

  • Shape and influence the policy landscape on welfare reform by engaging and working with government ministers, officials and parliamentarians. 
  • Bring the sector together to collaborate, innovate and share practice and resources. 
  • Showcase the great work of the sector on welfare reform, building trust with the government and other key stakeholders. 

The group’s specific activities and work plan will be driven in part by the strategic direction laid out by the National Housing Federation’s Board and in part by changes in the external operating environment. The group will maintain a strategic focus, as this is where it best adds value to the NHF and sector and will ensure its areas of focus remain consistent with the strategic themes listed above.

The group is not a governance mechanism, so the onus will be on debate and engagement rather than lengthy papers and minutes. You will need to be able to attend a minimum of three of our four core meetings a year. What we promise you in return is a dynamic space with the opportunity to contribute to the NHF's policy-making, with high quality facilitation and support from our staff.

Group members

  • James Place (Chair) - Accent Housing
  • Richard Bampton (Vice-chair) - A2Dominion Group
  • Sam Scotcher, Anchor
  • Jon Dickin, Aspire Housing
  • Ian Cory, Aster Group
  • Amanda Ryan, bpha Ltd
  • Sarah Rogers, Curo Places Ltd
  • Andrew Bowes, Gentoo
  • Emily Shuttleworth, Hundred Houses Society
  • Laura Norris, Irwell Valley Homes
  • Sara Herrington, North Star
  • Matt Ansell, Nottingham City Homes
  • Rob Davies, Onward Housing
  • Liz Mount, PA Housing
  • Peter Whittington, Places for People
  • Rachael Robinson, Rooftop
  • Stephen Wright, Sanctuary Housing
  • Tosin Durojaiye, The  Pioneer Group
  • Michelle Birley, The Guinness Partnership
  • Suzanne Halliwell, Thirteen Group
  • Janette Pearce, Together Housing Group
  • Tansy Crowley-Sweet, whg
  • Jo Woodcock, Wythenshawe Community Housing Group

Who to speak to

Jordane Shaw, External Affairs Manager