Members guiding our work on quality and trust

The Better Social Housing Review (BSHR) action plan has been developed by staff at the NHF and CIH in close collaboration with our members.

The work was led by two key groups of senior housing association leaders:

  • First, a steering group made up of housing association chief executives and one chair whose role has been to guide, challenge and support this work (listed below).
  • Second, a working group on structural inequalities, race and the BSHR (also listed below). Given the prominence of race and ethnicity related concerns highlighted by the BSHR, the task of the working group has been to understand how the BSHR recommendations interact with structural inequalities and racism to ensure our action plan faces the inequalities head on. Their scope has been dictated by the details of the BSHR, and as such this action plan takes active steps to ensure that someone's race or ethnicity does not make it more likely that they live in poor quality social housing.

In addition to these two key groups, we worked closely with groups of asset directors – for example the NHF Quality of Existing Homes Group and the CIH assets and repairs group; and we consulted a wide range of representative groups covering every type and size of housing association member.

Quality and trust steering group

  • Shruti Bhargava, Unity Homes & Enterprise - Housing Association LTD
  • Sinéad Butters, Aspire Housing Ltd
  • Steve Coffey, Torus
  • Ruth Cooke, GreenSquareAccord
  • Karen Cooper, Penge Churches Housing Association
  • Victor da Cunha, Curo
  • Paul Dolan, Accent Group Ltd
  • Tracey Gore, Steve Biko Housing Association
  • Chan Kataria, emh group
  • Ben Laryea, Ekaya Housing Association Ltd
  • Ian McDermott, Peabody
  • Steve Moseley, London & Quadrant Housing Trust
  • Charlie Norman, MSV Housing Group Ltd
  • Emma Palmer, Eastlight Community Homes
  • Catriona Simons, The Guinness Partnership
  • Susie Thompson, Gentoo Group Ltd
  • Matthew Walker, Leeds Federated Housing Association Ltd
  • Mark Washer, Sovereign Housing Association Ltd 

Working group on race and structural inequalities in the Better Social Housing Review

  • Shruti Bhargava, Unity Homes & Enterprise - Housing Association LTD
  • Victor Da Cunha, Curo 
  • Tracey Gore, Steve Biko Housing Association
  • Elly Hoult, Peabody
  • Anita Khan, Tower Hamlets Community Housing Ltd
  • Ben Laryea, Ekaya Housing Association Ltd
  • Khalid Mair, Imani Housing Co-op Ltd

Knowing our Homes task group

We have also established a group which will help to lead, inform and influence the work to develop recommendation two of the Better Social Housing Review, through the Knowing our Homes project. Members on this group are:

  • Russell Baldwinson, Live West
  • Jo Barrett, Thrive Homes
  • Rose Bean, Abri
  • Rupesh Bhatt, Peabody
  • Fiona Creighton, Mosscare St Vincent Housing
  • Jesse Fajemisin, Mount Green Housing Association
  • Elly Hoult, Peabody
  • Chris Hyde, Broadacres
  • Roger Taylor, L&Q
  • Karin Stockerl, Southern Housing Group
  • Tim Weightman, Places for People